Mathematics

Program
Degree Type
Associate of Science

Mathematics programNHTI's Mathematics degree program offers you a rigorous and cost-effective education with small class sizes to form long-lasting connections with peers and professors. You'll gain hands-on experience as a tutor of math and physics in ACE, by competing with our Math Team, and through investigations in our well-equipped physics lab. In your final semester, you'll investigate a topic of your interest in math in collaboration with a faculty member. In your senior project presentation, you'll share your newfound expertise with the academic community.

Do you have questions? Contact Dan Shagena, department chair, at dshagena@ccsnh.edu or 603-271-6484 x4307.

Admission Requirements

Apply for this program today on our Admissions page with step-by-step instructions and enrollment pathways build just for you!

Applicants are required to have:

  • A grade of C or higher in high school Pre-Calculus and Physics with a lab
Career Information

This degree program prepares students to transfer successfully into bachelor’s degree programs in STEM fields such as mathematics, physics, statistics, engineering, computer science, and mathematics education. All of our graduates who obtained their A.S. in Mathematics have transferred to and enjoyed academic success at UNH.

Curriculum

First Year

Fall Semester 
Item #
Title
Lecture Hours
Lab Hours
Credits
Subtotal Credits
12
6
14
Spring Semester
Item #
Title
Lecture Hours
Lab Hours
Credits
Subtotal Credits
14-15
3
15-16

Second Year

Fall Semester 
Item #
Title
Lecture Hours
Lab Hours
Credits
Subtotal Credits
16-17
2
17-18
Spring Semester
Item #
Title
Lecture Hours
Lab Hours
Credits
Humanities/Fine Arts/Language elective  +
3 - 4
0
3 - 4
General elective  +
3 - 4
0
3 - 4
Subtotal Credits
10-12
12
14-16
Total Credits
60-64
Additional Information
Program Learning Outcomes

Graduates demonstrate the ability to:

  • Identify, discuss, and analyze mathematical and physical theories
  • Show technical proficiency and effective problem-solving in completing mathematical processes
  • Communicate math in both oral and written formats using appropriate language
  • Use logical reasoning, understand mathematical proof, and justify results
  • Apply math concepts to other disciplines including business, economics, and social sciences
Student Testimonials

Initially I thought NHTI would be just a stopping-over point, just a place to get my Gen Eds, but it became a major focal point of my education. I met people here who I’ll be in touch with for the rest of my life. And more importantly, NHTI is where I learned how to learn. As a home-schooled student, I had never done school in a brick-and-mortar setting. NHTI is where I learned how to navigate the academic world and developed a good college work ethic. And I learned professionalism working in the Math Lab. This meant a lot, and I enjoyed all of it.

– Jonathan Cooper, Class of 2017

I came in with a fairly high level of math, and went directly into upper-level classes. The professors I worked with were really smart, and the small class sizes made things very personal. I’d taken Calc I online and gotten an A but didn’t really understand it. Having that 1-on-1 experience in the classroom made all the difference.

– Rebekah Kneuer, Class of 2017

Faculty
Adam Hopper
Email:
ahopper@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Professor
Department:
Mathematics
Amy Ballou
Email:
aballou@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Adjunct Professor
Department:
Mathematics
Brenda Jones
Email:
bjones@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Adjunct Professor
Department:
Mathematics
Daniel Shagena
Email:
dshagena@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Department Chair, Professor
Department:
Mathematics
Debanond Chakraborty
Email:
dchakraborty@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Adjunct Professor
Department:
Mathematics
Emile Anderson
Email:
eanderson@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Adjunct Professor
Department:
Mathematics
Gavitt Kerkel
Email:
gkerkel@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Adjunct Professor
Department:
Mathematics
Heather Wood
Email:
hwood@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Adjunct Professor
Department:
Education,
Mathematics
Jael Khanna
Email:
jkhanna@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Adjunct Professor
Department:
Mathematics
James Schofield
Email:
jschofield@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Adjunct Professor
Department:
Mathematics
Kerry Cook
Email:
kcook@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Professor
Department:
Mathematics
Khatereh Sawal
Email:
ksawal@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Professor
Department:
Mathematics
Laurie Service
Email:
lservice@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Adjunct Professor
Department:
Mathematics
Lucyann Zeller
Email:
lzeller@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Professor
Department:
Mathematics
Matthew Brennan
Email:
mbrennan@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Adjunct Professor
Department:
Mathematics
Matthew Wood
Email:
mwood@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Adjunct Professor
Department:
Mathematics
Mehrdad Meskoob
Email:
mmeskoob@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Professor
Department:
Mathematics
Nasser Yari
Email:
nyari@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Adjunct Professor
Department:
Mathematics
Richard Kleinschmidt
Email:
rkleinschmidt@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Adjunct Professor
Department:
Mathematics
Sandra Found
Email:
sfound@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Adjunct Professor
Department:
Mathematics
Stijn Brand
Email:
sbrand@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Adjunct Professor
Department:
Mathematics
Timothy Scronce
Email:
tscronce@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Adjunct Professor
Department:
Mathematics
Valerie LaVoice
Email:
vlavoice@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Professor
Department:
Mathematics
Vickiann LaVoice
Email:
vmlavoice@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Adjunct Professor
Department:
Mathematics
Z Cameo Johnson-Cramer
Email:
zjohnsoncramer@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Adjunct Professor
Department:
Mathematics