Criminal Justice

Degree Type
Associate of Science

Criminal Justice ProgramNHTI's Criminal Justice degree program teaches you field basics and the rules of criminal procedure and criminal law. You'll begin to learn about specialty fields from juvenile justice to corrections operations to police-community relations in justice and the community and will be taught by professionals who have spent a significant amount of time as practitioners in the field. This program can be completed entirely online and accelerated online!

Do you have questions? Contact Michael Raymond, department chair, at mfraymond@ccsnh.edu or 603-271-6484 x4284.

Admission Requirements

Apply for this program today on our Admissions page with step-by-step instructions and enrollment pathways build just for you!

Curriculum

First Year

Fall Semester 
Item #
Title
Lecture Hours
Lab Hours
Credits
Subtotal Credits
17
0
17
Spring Semester
Item #
Title
Lecture Hours
Lab Hours
Credits
Subtotal Credits
16
0
16

Second Year

Fall Semester 
Item #
Title
Lecture Hours
Lab Hours
Credits
Subtotal Credits
16
0
16
Spring Semester
Item #
Title
Lecture Hours
Lab Hours
Credits
CRMJ 270C or CRMJ 275C  +
3
9
3
Subtotal Credits
12
11
13
Total Credits
62
Additional Information
Character Expectations

Background checks are completed by potential employers prior to obtaining any position with arrest or detention powers and typically before being accepted for an internship. Applicants who have been in difficulty with the law may not be employable or eligible for an internship. Because future goals may be compromised, applicants are advised to discuss any concerns with the department chair.

Internship Sites
  • CASA of New Hampshire
  • DCYF Juvenile Services
  • Merrimack County Attorney's Office
  • Merrimack County Juvenile Diversion
  • N.H. Department of Corrections
  • N.H. Division of Children Youth and Families
  • N.H. Fish and Game Department
  • N.H. Prison for Women
  • N.H. Public Defender's Office
  • N.H. State Police
  • N.H. State Prison for Women
  • N.H. State Prison Volunteers
  • Tobey School
  • U.S. Probation Office
  • Victims Inc.
Program Learning Outcomes

Upon completion of the program, students will be able to:

  • Evaluate theoretical frameworks and application of decision-making in criminal justice.
  • Critique police and community interactions and predict response/reactions.
  • Deconstruct approaches to substance abuse enforcements.
  • Discuss specialized fields within the criminal justice system.
Faculty
Brooksley Belanger
Email:
bbelanger@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Adjunct Professor
Department:
Criminal Justice
James Sartell
Email:
jsartell@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Adjunct Professor
Department:
Criminal Justice
Jason Smith
Email:
jsmith@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Adjunct Professor
Department:
Criminal Justice
Jeff Czarnec
Email:
jczarnec@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Adjunct Professor
Department:
Criminal Justice
John Eckert
Email:
jeckert@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Adjunct Professor
Department:
Criminal Justice
Joseph Hoebeke
Email:
jhoebeke@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Adjunct Professor
Department:
Criminal Justice
Michael Frost
Email:
mfrost@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Adjunct Professor
Department:
Criminal Justice
Michael Luth
Email:
mluth@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Adjunct Professor
Department:
Criminal Justice
Michael Raymond
Email:
mfraymond@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Department Chair
Department:
Criminal Justice
Michelle Clarke
Email:
mclarke@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Adjunct Professor
Department:
Criminal Justice
Michelle Edmark
Email:
medmark@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Adjunct Professor
Department:
Criminal Justice
Patrick Dawson
Email:
pdawson@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Adjunct Professor
Department:
Criminal Justice
Thomas Cooper
Email:
tcooper@ccsnh.edu
Position:
Adjunct Professor
Department:
Criminal Justice